Getting Started

As I start researching for my 20% project I am a little confused about what I need to be looking for. I know that I want to figure out how to go about testing students for IEP’s, but I am not sure where to start. I have a twitter account that I follow and a pinterest board dedicated towards communication sciences and disorders where I have been getting some really good ideas about things to do in a classroom setting for children with speech problems. However, I have not yet seen anything that tells me how to pinpoint a technology that a child will need because of a certain speech problem that he or she has. That was one of the reasons that I chose this topic. I also was very curious about all the different kinds of technologies that we have nowadays and how they can help benefit children and adults that have certain problems. I am fascinated with how mankind has been able to create things so that people with speech problems are able to communicate with and fully participate in society. I have always really loved to help people and seeing how much these technologies can help someone in their everyday lives really makes me want to learn all i can about it so that one day maybe I will be able to assist in the process of helping someone by giving them a technology that will change their life.

One thought on “Getting Started

  1. IEP legislation depends on the state’s laws. Here’s a link to Georgia’s IEP standards that should hopefully leave you with something to work with: http://rules.sos.state.ga.us/pages/GEORGIA_DEPARTMENT_OF_EDUCATION/SPECIAL_EDUCATION/index.html
    And here’s a PDF of Georgia IEP standards to get you started:

    Click to access 160-4-7-.06.pdf

    Hopefully, if you’re able to pinpoint exactly what needs to be done during the IEP process, you can form a plan of action for improving the system.

Leave a comment