Defining IEPs

After my first post for this project I received some very helpful comments that are really helping me in forming a direction for this project. Since my project will be on IEPs I felt like a good first step would be to start small  with the basic definition of IEPs. I received some very helpful sights from commenters that gave me a great idea of where to be looking! 

So far while researching, I have learned that IEPs stands for: Individualized Education Programs. An Individualized Education Program is for every public school student who receives special education. This individualized program creates an opportunity for teachers, parents and school administrators to work together to improve educational results for children with disabilities. The IEP is a written statement for each child with a disability staring what special education and related services the student needs, but before the actual IEP is written there is a process to go about determining if a child is actually in need of a personalized education program. 

These are the general steps in the special education process:

1) Child is identified as possibly needing special education and related services 

2) Child is evaluated 

3) Eligibility is decided 

4) Child is found eligible for services 

5)  IEP meeting is scheduled 

6) IEP meeting is held and the IEP is written 

7) Services are provided 

8) Progress is measured and reported to parents 

9) IEP is reviewed 

10) Child is reevaluated 

 On Pinterest I found a cute little “road map” to help illustrate this process in a fun way! Image

So now that I have a pretty good understanding of what an IEP is and how a student is deemed eligible for one, now next time I can really begin to dive into how these programs are individualized for particular students with particular disabilities. After all, no two people are the same. I am very interested to find out how you go about determining what type of IEP a particular student with a particular disability needs. 

Leave a comment